This article will cover setting up your Xero integration with bill pay, as well as some FAQs.
Bill pay is only available to Brex Premium customers. Enable Premium
on your account today for free!
Step 1: Navigate to Integrations on the left side of your dashboard.
Step 2: If you haven’t set up Xero yet, click Connect on the Xero card and follow the prompts. If you see Manage instead of Connect, you can skip to Step 4.
Step 3: Bill sync will be enabled automatically after connecting Xero. You can switch this off later on the Xero settings page.
Step 4: If you’ve already connected Xero, navigate to your integration in the dashboard and click Manage, then Settings. Here, you’ll need to enable Bills data.
Note: Bills sync is only available for 5 bills per month with the Xero Starter Plan.
How do I reconcile my bills?
Once the Brex transaction corresponding to the bill is synced over to your accounting platform, the transaction row will prompt you to confirm that the transaction should be assigned to a matched bill for reconciliation. You can click confirm or click into the row for more details. Once confirmed, the bill will be marked as paid.
When do my bills sync with Xero?
Once a bill has been submitted for payment on Brex, it will be synced with your connected accounting platform immediately. We do not retroactively sync past bills–any bills that were submitted for payment prior to the integration being enabled or fully set up will not be synced. If a bill is canceled and sent back to draft state, any changes to the bill will not be synced until the bill is resubmitted.
What happens when a bill is canceled on Brex?
When you cancel a bill on Brex, it reverts to the draft state. From this point, a few things can happen:
- If the draft gets deleted, the corresponding bill in Xero will be deleted.
- If the draft gets resubmitted for payment, any changes to the bill while in draft state will be synced with the corresponding bill.
- Modifications to the bill while it's in draft state will not be synced.